End of the Week Report

Given that I only started this blog a couple days ago, Friday to be specific, I am quite happy with the progress I have made. In the span of just three days I have managed to type up nine posts. I was hoping to cover all sixteen titles I am currently watching, but I realize now that was never going to happen. Either way, I am very happy ending the week with ten posts.

The purpose for these end of the week reports will be to comment on the ups and the downs of the weeks showings. If I happen to reach some kind of milestone I will also briefly comment on that.

Biggest Disappointment of the Week: Tonari no Seki-kun

My expression when I realized which chapter they were covering.

The biggest disappointment this week, hands down, was realizing that Tonari no Seki-kun would only cover chapters one through twenty-one. There are so many amazing chapters that we will never get to see animated because instead of taking the time to just go through the manga and pick the funniest chapters they went ahead and picked them by their chapter release.

Biggest Surprise of the Week: Hoozuki no Reitetsu

This is Hell, Hell, a wonderful Hell.

I went into Hoozuki no Reitetsu expecting absolutely nothing. I had no idea what genre it was. I did not even know if it was a short, which I thought it was. This show was not just a surprise, it was a welcome change of pace. I have not felt so enthusiastic about a series since Hyouge Mono. If the series continues like this it will be, hands down, my AOTY.

Best Episode of the Week: Hoozuki no Reitetsu

“I live my life cheerfully and with an open heart.”

Somewhat of a no-brainer after all the praise I have given it. I think this is the only episode I did not pause once. Not only that, I was shocked when the credits began to roll. It had felt like I had only been sitting there for a couple of minutes.

Worst Episode of the Week: Tonari no Seki-kun

Content with the substandard.

Moving beyond my disappointment with Shin-Ei Animation, I just did not find this sketch funny. It was too down-to-Earth for Tonari no Seki-kun. The only redeemable part of the episode was the ending and that lasted all but fifteen seconds.

Most Entertaining Episode of the Week: Mikakunin de Shinkoukei

Mashiro’s smile is a miracle of the universe.

Mashiro is, hands down, my favorite character of the season. She is just a bundle of joy that I just can not wait to listen to every week. There is something about that nasally voice that she and Nonon from Kill la Kill have that just makes me laugh uncontrollably. It was great having Mashiro as the spotlight of this weeks episode.

Best Ending of the Week: Noragami

A god of war, Yato does battle with a cat.

I am very excited to meet this spirit that seems to have some kind of connection to Yato. I have a feeling that she has been stalking him longer than just three episode. I am eager to see if she makes her presence known next week.

4 responses

  1. communalwriters1 | Reply

    Have you seen the full third episode yet? On Crunchyroll, it’s only available to non-premium (paid members) users on, like, January 20-something.
    Where do you watch Tonari No Seki-kun?

    1. To answer your first question, I did see the entire episode. I do not use Crunchyroll, however. I download my anime from NyaaTorrents.

      I would suggest you do the same. In less than five minutes the entire episode can be on your computer at a far greater resolution.

      1. communalwriters1

        Cool! The only problem with that for me is that my computer is a Chromebook and if I download a bunch of stuff, my computer might crash. I don’t really mind waiting, I just wondered so that if there was a faster way that was really easy, I could watch the third episode now.
        My dad’s computer is really old and slow. No more space.
        My family computer sort of belongs to my mom mostly and I only have access to certain sites. Darn!
        Thank you, though!

      2. Hi khajata!
        I’ve noticed that you haven’t been posting more of your awesome posts lately! We all miss you! Also, I deleted my blog, Communal Writers, as it will be much easier to tackle my one blog, A Confued Otaku! Please check it out and give me feedback!

        Love,
        Makino-chan ❤

Disagree With Me

