Tonari no Seki-kun – 03

Disappointing. I can think of no better way to start than with the word disappointing. It reflects both how I feel about this weeks episode and how Shin-Ei Animation are going about adapting Tonari no Seki-kun. This weeks episode was not bad. Something can be disappointing without being bad. I can not stress that enough.

I am sure there are a few people who thoroughly enjoyed Seki’s desk-bound shenanigans this week. These are the same people who have not read the manga, though. Now, you may be asking yourself what that has to do with anything. “Perhaps he is saying Shin-Ei Animation are being unfaithful to the original script”. Well, I have little reason to keep it a mystery so do not dwell on it.

My expression when I realized which chapter they were covering.

This episode covered chapter three. It has been a while since I started reading Tonari no Seki-kun so I did not realize that episodes one and two covered chapters one and two respectively. With episode three having covered chapter three it is all but an absolute that this adaption will cover chapters one through twenty-one. In case you did not know, there are only going to be twenty-one episodes. Now, I have probably left you with another question, though you may have already figured out what my beef is with how Shin-Ei Animation are adapting Tonari no Seki-kun.

With a short like Tonari no Seki-kun, referring both to the manga and the anime, it is either hit or miss. The first twenty-one chapters certainly does not reflect the twenty-one best chapters of the manga. However, because Shin-ei Animation have decided, for whatever reason, to animate the manga following the chapter releases we are left watching Takuma Morishige’s early works.

Now, that is not to say that the earlier chapters do not have their gems, but I can not help but feel it is simple laziness to animate the manga this way. There are plenty of chapters, such as chapter three, that do not deserve to be animated over later chapters.

Content with the substandard.

I really have nothing good to say about this weeks episode. With the realization that we are only going to see chapters one through twenty-one, I really can not muster any kind of enthusiasm for the future of this series. I had at least hoped to enjoy the surprise of each weeks gag, but knowing they are following the chapter releases just deadens that excitement.

I will still be watching next weeks episode, albeit with a little less perk.

Disagree With Me

