Sekai Seifuku: Bouryaku no Zvezda – 03

It is that time of the week again. I said week, not month. You need to pay more attention to what someone writes and leave less to the imagination, not that I am saying creativity is not an important thing. See what happens when you let your mind wander? Ahem, that time of the week again, yes yes, when Animation Anonymous is invaded by the dreadful likes of Zvezda and once again we are given a front-row seat to the devastation that they leave behind.

The terror that is Zvezda.

This weeks episode focused on the weakest and by the far the most unpopular member of the Zvezda organization, Yasu. I will not lie, when he was first being punished in episode one I was really hoping he would be dealt a lethal blow. That is not to say I expected anything less than “No supper”. Still, to have an episode dedicated to this guy so early on in the series is somewhat of a bummer. It was saved somewhat by Gorou, though I would have preferred a Gorou centric episode with Yasu as support. Either way, we must deal with the cards we are dealt and in this case they were pretty awful.

However, that is not to say that this episode was a total downer. It was great finally getting to see Zvezda mobilizing the masses. I want to believe that in future episodes the Smoke Busters will make a return as loyal Zvezda foot-soldiers. You might recall last week that I mentioned how I was worried there would not be any actual invading, that the show would build up to a single decisive battle. While we were told that thirty percent of the city had fallen to Zvezda control, we really can not say for certain that was not just a joke and will not be reflected in future episodes.

Not to “dampen” your parade or anything, but this pun is awful.

I have to admit I was rather shocked when I realized that they would be conquering smokers this week. I had this image, and still do, of Japan as a hotbed of smokers. Most, if not all, of the students I have met from the country and neighboring countries are heavy smokers and have painted a similar picture for me. Yet from this episode I would have to believe that most Japanese are opposed to smoking otherwise it would be a rather unpopular move by the show to attack smokers. They would risk alienating a chunk of their viewers.

Needless to say, even if the Japanese are not the heavy smokers I envisioned them to be I was surprised at how harsh Sekai Seifuku: Bouryaku no Zvezda was with them. It bordered being more than a simple tease. If I smoked I would definitely feel awkward about this weeks episode, or at the very least would be a little less enthusiastic about it. It is a good thing I am not a smoker because. It would have been a tad hurtful to learn that the people behind the series do not think I have a soul.

You came to the wrong neighborhood.

Either way, I am really excited for next weeks episode. I just love new characters. Now, the world love is thrown around so loosely nowadays that it has lost its impact. When I say I love new characters I mean that it can be the difference between an episode being OK and great. If an episode manages to introduce a new character well it easily jumps up a couple ranks on my interest chart. So again, I am really excited for new weeks episode for when we get to meet Odin.

Disagree With Me

