Space Dandy – 04

In what has quickly become my favorite episode of the decade, Space Dandy soars through the stars and straight into our hearts, or rather brains, this week with an episode chalk full of zombie shenanigans. If you are not watching Space Dandy, have stopped watching Space Dandy, accidentally found this page while looking to fulfill your aspirations to travel to space, you need to watch episode four of Space Dandy. I am not asking you to pick up the series. Just watch episode four.

Oops. Wrong door.

This move by Bones was simply amazing. They threw the rules out the door this week by having our cast die (again). Too many shows are hung up on being serious, on the third-rate story they are trying to tell. It seems as if only one show every other season has a half decent story. Most of the time we get bogged down with idealistic nonsense that the writers could have submitted as a paper in High School for a B-. We need more shows like Space Dandy that just try to entertain. There is some overarching agenda, but each episode is our cast just living out the universe.

I love zombies. Zombies would no doubt love me. I am one great hunk of meat. Read into that as you will, I am prime zombie eating. Getting back on point, as I love zombies it was only natural that an episode dedicated to zombies would keep my eyes focused to the screen and then maybe pressed against it a little too. What I did not expect, and really is just Bones throwing the rule book out the door, is that we did not just have a zombie episode. We had a zombie episode.

In recent memory, Panty and Stocking is the last show to have an honest to goodness zombie episode. However, that was a zombie survival episode. It was a great laugh, mind you, but the humor revolved around our angelic pair trying to get through the zombie apocalypse, not on the zombies themselves. Let me explain, the jokes were not about the zombies, but rather played off the fact that there were zombies. We were laughing at Panty and Stocking surviving (and ultimately dying) in a zombie apocalypse. It is in that way that this weeks episode separates itself even more so, in my mind anyways, from anything we have seen done with zombies in anime. The zombies were the humor.

Forget orally, this bad-boy can be transmitted digitally!

Now, I really do not see any reason to talk about why it was funny because I am sure you found this episode hilarious without me having to explain anything, so let me tell you what I loved most about this episode. It solidifies the zaniness of this series. This episode really puts away any worries I might have had over the future of this show. Now, some might say that this show is just stupid that it is not going anywhere and is a complete waste of time to watch. These are the same people who something something implication of lacking humor something something. You know what I mean? We have had far too many comedies that were just slice of life comedies.

It was almost as if Japan had become allergic to the idea of a comedy taking place outside of a school. I can not take anything seriously in Space Dandy, nor am I supposed to. The entire universe from this star to the other are just one big joke. I can not think of any recent shows that have taken this liberty. It seems like shows today have to be serious, that they have to have some semblance of a plot or drama. It is almost as if they are afraid of relying solely on their humor. This is something that Space Dandy is doing that I am just so excited over and relieved for.

Am I kawaii? uguu~

I know my thoughts were all over the place, but so has Space Dandy these last couple of weeks. I am sure I am repeating myself here, but that is something I have come to love from this series. I have no idea where it is heading and I can not have any idea. It is wonderful. Space Dandy has earned a special place in my heart if not solely for this episode. I am more excited than ever for what the future holds for this truly special and memorable series.

Disagree With Me

